Bizarro Horror Fiction Author MP Johnson | Freak Tension Zine

Information about writer MP Johnson's horror fiction and bizarro fiction, Freak Tension zine and more.

Gutmouth by Gabino Iglesias debuted last fall as part of the Eraserhead Press New Bizarro Author Series. There is so much bizarro in its 84 pages it will make your head spin. The man with the mouth on his stomach and the three-boobed, amputee stripper are just the tip of the iceberg. This is the first of many mini interviews I will be conducting on my site with bizarro authors and creative-types who I respect.

Gutmouth

If your gut could talk to you, what would it say?

My gut would probably spend all day asking for a combination of Guinness, bizarro books, and barbecue. I´m convinced it would sound like Tony Montana.

You do a lot of critical writing, book reviews and whatnot. How does that writing inform your bizarro fiction?

I try to keep my fiction separate from all the other writing I do (i.e. academic, reviews, op-eds, etc.). Fiction is actually a salve for me, a way to forget all that other stuff and hopefully create something much more interesting. That being said, I love writing about books and sharing that love with others.

Gutmouth notably features a three-boobed, amputee stripper. What is the strangest thing you’ve ever seen a stripper do?

A few years ago I worked at a tattoo shop. A stripper everyone called Butterfly was a regular customer. She has a giant butterfly between her breasts. In any case, we went to watch her dance one night and she made my glasses disappear. After dancing for a while, she pulled them out and gave them back. I washed them before putting them back on, so no worries.

Arm wrestling. You vs. William S. Burroughs. Who wins?

I’d totally win based on strength. However, that wiry dude’s usually packing heat, so I’d play it safe and let him win. Plus, you know, he’s William Fucking Burroughs.

One thought on “Interview: Bizarro Author Gabino Iglesias

Leave a Reply

