Bizarro Horror Fiction Author MP Johnson | Freak Tension Zine

Information about writer MP Johnson's horror fiction and bizarro fiction, Freak Tension zine and more.

In discussing my new book, The After-Life Story of Pork Knuckles Malone, a few people have asked, “Where did you get the idea for such a weird book?” The germ of the idea started with this flyer for a Big Eyes show by Twin Cities artist Claire Monet:

Big Eyes Flyer By Claire Monet

I liked the image of a ham sitting in front of a wall of old televisions, watching them. In my head though, I saw the ham with antlers stuck into it instead of branches, probably a subconscious tribute to the geek helmet worn by Rev. Norb, the singer of legendary Green Bay punk band Boris the Sprinkler. My ham didn’t have eyes either. Instead, it had a pair of pineapple rings wedged between the antlers that kind of looked like eyes. I describe my interpretation of this image in chapter 12 of the book, which I’ve been reading live.

Of course, an image isn’t a story. I knew the ham was malicious, but maybe it wasn’t always that way. Maybe it was once a sweet little pig that liked to run through cornfields with a little farm kid. Maybe it was killed by a misguided father. Maybe a road trip ensued that was filled with slime-spewing insanity, mainly because I really love slime-spewing insanity. The rest of the weird book unfolded from there, pulling further inspiration from punk and the years that I lived in Green Bay. I kind of like how it turned out.

Have you read it yet? If you like weird fiction, it’s available on Amazon for a pittance.

One thought on “Origin Story: The After-Life Story Of Pork Knuckles Malone

Leave a Reply

