Bizarro Horror Fiction Author MP Johnson | Freak Tension Zine

Information about writer MP Johnson's horror fiction and bizarro fiction, Freak Tension zine and more.

When I was a kid, it didn’t take long for my friends and I to burn through all the weird movies at the local video store (Top 10 Video!). I became so obsessed with finding the weirdest movies that I started getting books about cult films. I ended up spending more time reading about cult movies than watching them. One in particular kept coming up: Eraserhead by David Lynch.

In Heaven

Top 10 Video didn’t have Eraserhead. I hunted, but could find no video store in Eau Claire that had it. I was able to get my hands on Blue Velvet and Wild at Heart, and I just absorbed them. But still Eraserhead eluded me. Reading essay after essay about it, I constructed my own version in my head. Then one day, I wandered into a tiny video store that I had never noticed before and found a copy for sale (on VHS, of course), for three bucks! My hands shook as I grabbed it. I didn’t think it was real. I bought it and watched it immediately. It was worn as fuck, but I watched it over and over, just letting it burn into my brain.

I’ve since watched pretty much everything David Lynch has ever done. Weirdness aside, David Lynch does something that few other filmmakers do for me. He consistently surprises me, and that’s why I keep coming back. Needless to say, I’m honored to be a part of this tribute to his work. I’m honored that my name is alongside idols like John Skipp and Thomas Ligotti, and many, many future literary legends from the bizarro fiction and horror fiction genres. I’m psyched that Cameron Pierce chose my story and I’m really happy to be working with Eraserhead Press.

I suspect that everyone reading this is probably as enamored with David Lynch as I am, so this should be a no-brainer. Pick up this book at Amazon.

Leave a Reply

