Bizarro Horror Fiction Author MP Johnson | Freak Tension Zine

Information about writer MP Johnson's horror fiction and bizarro fiction, Freak Tension zine and more.

This is it. This is THE BIG WEIRD WEEK – a week of sales, giveaways, cover reveals and more! To kick things off, I’m revealing the new official MP Johnson logo, designed by the great Bill Hauser:

MP Johnson Logo

This will be used for stickers, maybe T-shirts and more!

What Is The Big Weird Week?

So what is the deal with THE BIG WEIRD WEEK? Before I answer that, let me say this: I’m not fishing for pity buys. I don’t want to make you feel guilty and buy my shit. I want you to buy it because you legitimately A) want it or B) want to support my writing.

That being said, sales have dipped and I could use an infusion of cash right now. This may sound vain, but I have very few clothes. I threw away all my dude clothes upon coming out. I’m building back up slowly. Furthermore, I’m trying to save money for some possible future medical procedures that won’t be covered by insurance and will be expensive. But at the end of the day, THE BIG WEIRD WEEK is about the writing.

I will always write. Always. But in order for me to continue publishing books and zines, they do need to sell, and I’ve been doing a shitty job selling. During THE BIG WEIRD WEEK, I’m going to use all my social media channels (Facebook, Instagram and Twitter) and more to offer sales, do book giveaways, reveal the covers of some new projects and more. Full disclosure: I’m trying to drum up business. But I think it’s going to be a lot of fun too.

What It Means To Buy Something From Me

I recognize that when you purchase a book or a zine, you are not just giving me your hard-earned money. You are also giving me your time, which is even more precious these days. Similarly, when you buy something from me, you are not just buying an item. You are buying a creative work that I poured my heart and my soul into. You are buying something that is buzzing with the creative energy that I’ve spent my entire life honing. When you buy a book or a zine from me, you are casting a vote that says “This is valuable. This should exist in the world. I want this creator to keep creating.”

So, with all that in mind, if you have been holding off on buying something from me, maybe consider doing it now? Think about whether any of my books or zines would make a good birthday gift, Xmas gift or just “Hey here’s a nice thing” gift for a friend or family member. But please, only buy if you think it is something worth buying, and that my art is something worth supporting.

And if you don’t want to buy anything now, or you can’t afford it, consider sticking around during THE BIG WEIRD WEEK because I’ll be giving away a bunch of books too on my various social medias and elsewhere.

Last thing! Sharing on social media is huge! Word of mouth is how stuff gets around these days, and you never know which of your friends or followers might be super psyched to learn about my work.

XOXO
Emma

Oh, and to kick things off:

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Drag Queen Dino Fighters by M.P. Johnson

Drag Queen Dino Fighters

by M.P. Johnson

Giveaway ends July 10, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

 

Leave a Reply

